# MINUTES OF CEREMONIAL COUNCIL

Friday, 17 May 2024 (7:19 - 8:13 pm)

# PRESENT

Cllr Donna Lumsden (Chair) Cllr Irma Freeborn (Deputy Chair)

Cllr Andrew Achilleos Cllr Princess Bright Cllr Muhib Chowdhury Cllr Edna Fergus Cllr Rocky Gill Cllr Manzoor Hussain Cllr Mohammed Khan Cllr Fatuma Nalule Cllr Simon Perry Cllr Regina Rahman Cllr Ingrid Robinson Cllr Summya Sohaib Cllr Phil Waker Cllr Emily Rodwell Cllr Sabbir Zamee

Cllr Dorothy Akwaboah Cllr Sade Bright Cllr Alison Cormack Cllr Cameron Geddes Cllr Kashif Haroon Cllr Jane Jones Cllr Giasuddin Miah Cllr Adegboyega Oluwole Cllr Adegboyega Oluwole Cllr Michel Pongo Cllr Hardial Singh Rai Cllr Faraaz Shaukat Cllr Faraaz Shaukat Cllr Harriet Spoor Cllr Darren Rodwell Cllr Mukhtar Yusuf Cllr Mukhtar Sandhu Cllr Saima Ashraf Cllr Josie Channer Cllr John Dulwich Cllr Syed Ghani Cllr Victoria Hornby Cllr Elizabeth Kangethe Cllr Margaret Mullane Cllr Glenda Paddle Cllr Moin Quadri Cllr Tony Ramsay Cllr Paul Robinson Cllr Dominic Twomey Cllr Maureen Worby Cllr Muhammad Saleem

## **APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE**

Cllr Faruk Choudhury	Cllr Chris Rice
Cllr Jack Shaw	Cllr Lee Waker

**Cllr Lynda Rice** 

## 7. Declaration of Members' Interests

There were no declarations of interest.

#### 8. Minutes (19 May 2023)

The minutes of the meeting held on 19 May 2023 were confirmed as correct.

#### 9. Appointment of Mayor 2024/25

The Chair asked for nominations for the appointment of Mayor of Barking and Dagenham for the 2024/25 municipal year.

Councillor Paul Robinson moved that Councillor Moin Quadri be appointed as the Mayor of the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham for the forthcoming year, 2024/25. The motion was seconded by Councillor Saima Ashraf.

There were no other nominations.

The Council **resolved** that Councillor Moin Quadri be appointed as Mayor of the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham for the 2024/25 municipal year.

# 10. Young Mayor 2024/25

The Chief Executive advised that the Barking and Dagenham (BAD) Youth Forum had appointed a new Young Mayor, David Anyanwu, following its election process in February 2024.

The Leader of the Council conveyed the Council's appreciation to the outgoing Young Mayor, Regina Pamba, for the able manner in which she discharged her duties during 2023/24.

The Council **noted** the appointment of David Anyanwu as Young Mayor for 2024/25.